Auto cheap insurance. Georgia (GA).




Car Insurance Laws By States
AL   AK   AZ   AR   CA   CO   CT   DE   FL   GA   HI   IA   ID   IL   IN   KA   KY   LA   MA   ME   MD   MI   MN   MS   MO   MT   NE   NC   ND   NM   NV   NH   NJ   NY   OH   OK   OR   PA   RI   SC   SD   TN   TX   UT   VA   VT   WA   WI   WV   WY
  • Saving on auto insurance
  • Travel Insurance
  • Pet Insurance
  • Auto insurance. Georgia.

    Important Georgia auto insurance laws

       Auto insurance is that policy which is intended to protect the person(s) from the financial loss that occurs due to an automobile accident. The person, who takes the policy, pays the insurance company a certain amount as premium and thus ensures the service of the insurance policy for a fixed period of time. In general, most of the companies give the option to get insurance in increments of 6 months or annually. In case of large premiums, there may also be an option of paying monthly, though doing so may be expensive as the interest is usually added to the total premium.
       Some of the important laws that govern the Georgia auto insurance:
    • All the vehicles that are registered or run in GA are required to be covered by a liability insurance policy issued through a Georgia agent with an insurance company licensed to sell in Georgia.
    • Motor vehicle owners in this state are required to obtain and keep Georgia liability insurance coverage on their vehicles to operate them legally. They should also register and obtain Georgia license plates, and renew, replace, or transfer their existing Georgia license plates (tags).
    • Non-motorized vehicles like Trailers, and vehicles exempt from registration in this state like bicycles, mopeds, all-terrain vehicles, etc. do not require insurance coverage
    • Insurers must be licensed with the regulatory services division of the Georgia insurance and safety fire commissioner's office to be eligible to issue Georgia liability insurance policies for motor vehicles.
    • The insurer must issue an insurance information card to the insured, for each vehicle they insure.
    • The insurance information card should always be carried in the vehicle by the insured motorist.
       The state of Georgia requires minimum Bodily Injury Liability* coverage of $25,000 per injured person up to a maximum of $50,000 per accident, and a minimum Property Damage Liability coverage of $25,000. This referred to as 25/50/25 coverage.
       According to the Georgia State law a Personal Injury Protection* clause is not mandatory many insurance companies do provide PIP. PIP helps pay for your and your co passenger's medical expenditures "reasonable and necessary" nature.
       The Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorist Coverage for bodily injury caused by an uninsured driver are also not mandatory according to Georgia state law. This too is provided by many insurance companies and you can purchase this as an optional coverage for added protection.

       The state of Georgia guarantees all insured citizens the right to be reimbursed for all the damages caused by the owner of an uninsured vehicle. All damages, be they property damage, personal injury or even wrongful death, that might have occurred as a result of the accident can be recovered from the uninsured party as per the automobile laws in Georgia. Another interesting law that has been passed by the state of Georgia ensures that in the event an accident involves two federal employees, the amount to be reimbursed can be deducted from the liability insurance up to a certain limit. This is when the subrogation liens provided by the federal government are counted as part of the reimbursement amount calculation. The insurance company would cover the rest of the amount to make up for the whole reimbursement cost.
       Georgia motorist laws sometimes allow the guilty party to come up with the reimbursement amount. However, as with all the other laws, there can be certain exceptions to this also. The party wishing to stack all the insurance coverage must be eligible to do the same. Such stacking is possible only when both the automobiles involved in the accident are insured. When one of them is uninsured, then that party is not eligible to stack the insurance coverage and take care of the injured party. Also, all of them must be insured only under one personís name, and being a part of anotherís policy does not count.


    Copyright © 2006-2007 MedListok.com All rights reserved.
    Maintained online by webmaster