Hawaii Auto Insurance Information
Auto insurance. Hawaii (HI).
Hawaii is a no fault state, which means that in the event of an accident each driver's medical expenses will be covered by their own insurance company, regardless of who was responsible. Each driver must possess PIP (personal injury protection) coverage which will cover their medical expenses in case of an accident. Those individuals with good health care insurance will probably not find it necessary to carry more than the minimum amount of PIP insurance.
In Hawaii motorists are required to carry liability to the tune of $20,000 for bodily injury suffered by a single occupant of a car, $40,000 for the combined medical expenses of all of the occupants of the car, and $10,000 for any property damage resulting from the accident, including the vehicle of the other driver, fences, mailboxes and public property. The driver responsible for the accident will be held responsible for any expenses beyond this point.
How to reduce your rates
Your auto insurance premium is based on three primary factors:
Comparison shopping is the best way to save money on auto insurance. Savvy shoppers who keep a clean driving record will be able to find the best insurance deals with good companies. Another way to save money is by taking larger deductibles and lowering limits; however, make sure that you are not putting your financial future in jeopardy by choosing low limits and high deductibles. Auto insurance needs to be a priority in your budget, not an afterthought.
Insurance rates differ greatly between cars. If the car is safe and performs well in crash tests, is not frequently stolen, and/or has certain safety or anti-theft features, it will generally cost less to insure. If the car is flashier, has a history of being frequently stolen, or is more expensive to repair, you can bet your insurance rates will be higher.
It is strongly recommended that all drivers carry an uninsured/underinsured motorist policy. While the state requires that all drivers carry insurance not all are willing to comply, and even with the no fault policy a resident involved in a hit and run or an accident with a driver who either does not carry insurance or whose insurance is very poor may be left with a huge financial responsibility.
Car Insurance Laws By StatesAL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE FL GA HI IA ID IL IN KA KY LA MA ME MD MI MN MS MO MT NE NC ND NM NV NH NJ NY OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VA VT WA WI WV WY