Maryland auto insurance information
Auto insurance. Maryland.
Laws and minimum requirement
Car insurance is required in Maryland. Maryland law requires that each motor vehicle owner obtain insurance coverage on a motor vehicle
before it is registered. Coverages that are mandated by law include liability coverage, uninsured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection.
The minimum auto liability coverage in Maryland is 20/40/15; meaning $20,000 bodily injury or death for one person per accident, $40,000 bodily injury maximum for all injuries per accident, and $15,000 property damage maximum per accident.
The minimum Personal Injury Protection (PIP*) coverage is $2,500. Maryland law requires, at minimum, Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage of $20,000 bodily injury per
person or $40,000 total per accident, and $15,000 for property damage.
The minimum age for a Maryland Learner's permit is 15 years, 9 months; 16 years, 3 months for a
Maryland Provisional License; and 17 years, 9 months for a full Maryland license.
Factors affecting auto insurance premiums
The most common factors that impact rates are:
Ask About Discounts
- Driving record. If your driving record is less than perfect, you will be
considered a higher risk and will pay a higher premium. Insurers are prohibited from
increasing your rate based on accidents or traffic violations that are more than three years old.
- Geographic area. The number of claims filed by policyholders in your area
will also affect the rates charged by insurance companies.
- Gender and age. Statistics show that males and young adults have a higher
incidence of accidents and claims. Therefore, your gender and age will determine your rate. Rates generally decrease at age 25 and may increase as you approach age 50 or
- Marital status. Married individuals have a lower incidence of accidents and
claims so they generally pay lower premiums than single people.
- Prior insurance coverage. Any time period(s) that you did not carry auto
insurance will affect your premium. Some insurers require individuals to pay higher
premiums if there has been any lapse in insurance coverage. However, insurers
are prohibited by law from denying insurance because an applicant was previously
insured by the Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund.
- Annual mileage. Insurers will calculate your premium based on the
average distance you drive on an annual basis.
- Make and model of car. Premiums are also based on your car's
make/model and value.
- Credit history. Some, but not all, insurance companies use your credit
history (good or bad) as a factor in determining your premium. For instance, bankruptcies, late payments and the
number of credit cards you have may result in a higher premium.
Ask your agent or company if you are eligible for any discounts. Here are some discounts you should ask about:
What if no company will insure me?
- Good driving record.
- Safety devices.
- Anti-theft devices.
- Multiple policies.
- Good student.
- Driver Education Courses.
- Renewal Discount.
- Memberships or employment discounts.
If you cannot find auto insurance through standard insurance companies, talk to your insurance
agent about the Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund (MAIF). MAIF was created by statute to
insure people who are unable to get insurance through traditional insurers.
To obtain insurance through MAIF, you:
MAIF's premiums may be higher than those written with a standard insurance company. However,
if you maintain a good driving record while insured with MAIF, eventually, you should be able to
return to a standard company.
- must be turned down for auto insurance by two other insurance companies;
- must have a valid Maryland driver's license or a registered vehicle in Maryland;
- must not owe MAIF an outstanding premium for prior insurance coverage.
Car Insurance Laws By States
Saving on auto insurance