Massachusetts auto insurance information
Auto insurance. Massachusetts.
Car insurance is required in Massachusetts. Massachusetts law requires that each motor vehicle owner obtain insurance coverage on a motor vehicle before it is registered.
The minimum auto liability coverage in Massachusetts is 20/40/5; meaning $20,000 bodily injury or death for one person per accident, $40,000 bodily injury maximum for all injuries per accident, and $5,000 property damage maximum per accident.
Bodily injury to others pays for damages (e.g. medical expenses, pain and suffering) to anyone injured or killed by
your car only in an accident that occurs in Massachusetts.
Massachusetts is one of only five no fault states that has made it a requirement for all of their drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in addition to their liability and Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage protects you, anyone you let drive your car, household members and
passengers (unless covered by another Massachusetts policy with similar coverage) against losses caused by an uninsured
or unidentified (“hit and run”) driver. A minimum limit of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident is required.
This coverage does not pay for property damage or damage to your auto.
How To Reduce Your Premiums
Auto insurance premiums can vary from company to company and from coverage to coverage.
Check with your state’s insurance department for price comparison information - it may offer information on the prices charged by major insurers.
Ask for higher deductibles.
When you file a claim, a deductible is the amount of money you pay before your insurance company kicks in. Higher deductibles mean lower premiums.
Make sure you can actually pay a higher deductible, however, if and when you do need to make a claim.
Buy your homeowners and auto insurance from the same company. Many insurers will offer customers a discount for multiple policies.
Ask About Discounts. Ask your agent or company if you are eligible for any discounts. Here are some discounts you should ask about:
Safe Driver Insurance Plan
Low annual mileage. The fewer miles you drive, the less chance you have of getting into an accident. Insurers recognize this fact and generally offer discounts for low mileage drivers.
Anti-Theft Devices. Devices or systems that deter theft or vandalism also lower claims costs. Many companies offer discounts for anti-theft devices.
Age 65 or Older.
A 25% discount for all coverages will be applied to a premium after all other discounts and rating factors if the
driver meets the following conditions:
- The principal operator is 65 years or older,
- There are no Inexperienced Operators (less than 6 years driving experience) on the policy,
- The vehicle is not customarily used for business.
- Good Student. Insurers have found that students who are responsible enough to earn a B average or better tend to be more responsible drivers. For that reason, many companies offer a "Good Student Discount."
- Association discount - if you belong to certain associations , like your old university or college.
The Safe Driver Insurance Plan (SDIP) is a program mandated by state law that encourages safe driving by rewarding drivers who do not cause an accident, or incur a traffic law violation and by making sure that high-risk drivers pay a greater share of insurance costs.
The SDIP premium adjustment is the last step in the rating process after all discounts and rating factors have been applied.
Car Insurance Laws By States
Saving on auto insurance