New Hampshire Auto Insurance Information
Auto insurance. New Hampshire.
New Hampshire motor vehicle laws don't require you to carry auto insurance. However, if you have an "at-fault" accident and don't have auto insurance, the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles could require you to post a bond or cash equal to the amount of damage you caused in that accident. You also would be required to satisfy the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility requirements. This means you must buy auto insurance with minimum coverage amounts set by the Division of Motor Vehicles. You must satisfy these requirements to continue to drive legally in New Hampshire.
If you buy auto insurance in New Hampshire, the minimum limits available for Liability coverage are 25/50/25. Liability coverage pays for damages to others for which you are legally liable. Coverage of 25/50/25 pays up to $25,000 per person for bodily injury, up to $50,000 if 2 or more persons are hurt, and up to $25,000 for property damage
If you buy auto insurance in the State of New Hampshire you must also buy Medical Payments and Uninsured Motorists coverage. Medical Payments coverage pays for medical expenses for you and any passengers in your vehicle. By law, you must buy at least $1,000 of Medical Payments coverage.
Uninsured Motorists coverage covers you and your family members for injuries from an accident with an uninsured driver, or a hit and run, legally liable motorist. It also protects against injuries caused by insured drivers if their coverage is less than your own. In New Hampshire, your Uninsured Motorists coverage must equal the limit of your Liability coverage.
Factors that may affect the premium
Ask about discounts when buying or renewing your auto insurance policy. Not all companies offer all of the discounts listed here, and some companies may offer other discounts.
Not signing the statement of residency document can mean your policy will be cancelled. Cancellation means no coverage for accidents that happened after the policy was issued.
Making false residency statements is a criminal offense, and can mean a fine of up to $2,000, and up to one year's imprisonment and means no coverage for accidents after the policy was issued.
No matter where you buy your insurance, be sure to buy only from licensed individuals or companies. To legally sell insurance in New Hampshire, agents/producers and companies must be licensed by the New Hampshire Insurance Department. The licensing process gives consumers certain safeguards by, among other things, making sure that applicants have met basic financial and background requirements under the law. Not all companies that advertise nationally or sell on the Internet are licensed to do business in New Hampshire.
Car Insurance Laws By StatesAL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE FL GA HI IA ID IL IN KA KY LA MA ME MD MI MN MS MO MT NE NC ND NM NV NH NJ NY OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VA VT WA WI WV WY