Ohio auto insurance information
Auto insurance. Ohio.
The state of Ohio does not require drivers to buy car insurance. However, Ohio does
require you to have a guaranteed way to pay for injuries or damages that result from your
negligence or the negligence of anyone operating an auto you own. That guarantee is called
"proof of financial responsibility." Under Ohio's Financial Responsibility (FR) Law, you have
many choices. For additional information, contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).
Most drivers only have one real choice – to buy liability insurance.
The overall cost of auto insurance is affected by certain costs the insurance pays for including
The Ohio Department of Insurance regulates but does not set auto insurance rates. When a company wants to change its rates, it must file supporting data with the department. The Department’s rate experts review the data to make sure the new rates are justified.
What are some typical factors companies use to set rates?
But, you should not be surcharged for a minor moving violation or a single accident that was not your fault. Premiums can not change until your next renewal date.
What If No Company Will Insure Me? If your driving record is so bad that even the high-risk companies will not insure you, an agent can help you apply to the Ohio Automobile Insurance Plan. (Auto Plan)
The Auto Plan is required by state law to guarantee you can buy liability coverage. Your insurance will be placed with a company at rates that could be higher than even the high-risk companies rates. For information call the Ohio Auto Plan at (614) 221-2596.
You can earn a discount on your auto insurance premium if you are age 60 or older. To qualify for the discount, you must:
The law permits every company to set its own discounts. Most companies have a discount of either 5 percent or 10 percent - other discounts are as low as 2 percent, or as high as 15 percent.
Companies are allowed to give discounts on only the premium for your liability coverage. Therefore, your company might offer a 10 percent discount on liability coverage, but because you also have comprehensive and collision coverage, you would not see a full 10 percent reduction in your total premium.
Even without senior discounts, many companies include older drivers in their lowest rating categories.
When can I get a license?
You can get a temporary permit at age 15 1/2 . The permit allows you to drive as long as you have a licensed driver age 21 or older in the front passenger seat. You must carry your permit and an identification (ID) card while driving.
You must complete driver education, any other required training and pass the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicle tests. Then you can be eligible for a probationary license, which is valid until you turn 18.
Car Insurance Laws By StatesAL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE FL GA HI IA ID IL IN KA KY LA MA ME MD MI MN MS MO MT NE NC ND NM NV NH NJ NY OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VA VT WA WI WV WY