Rhode Island Auto Insurance Information
Auto insurance. Rhode Island.
Automobile insurance is required in Rhode Island when registering a vehicle. Proof of automobile insurance became mandatory in Rhode Island in 1993. When you register your vehicle, you will be asked to sign a statement that guarantees you will maintain insurance during the duration of your current registration period.
Rhode Island implements a tort system of insurance. This dictates that the driver at fault is legally responsible for the other driver's subsequent medical, car repair, or personal property expenses related to the auto accident.
Minimum state required limit for bodily injury is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident and property damage limit is $25,000.
How To Reduce Your Premiums
The best way to save on any insurance products is to shop around. It is very possible that one company gives you a high premium while other company offers you very low premium using the same information.
Every insurer, insuring motor vehicles which contain anti-theft devices, shall offer the following minimum reductions in premium charges on comprehensive coverage:
1. Alarm Only - five percent (5%)
2. Active Disabling Devices - five percent (5%)
3. Passive Disabling Devices - fifteen percent (15%)
4. Vehicle Recovery System Devices - twenty five percent (25%)
Every insurer may require evidence of installation of any anti-theft device prior to application of the applicable discount.
Some of the ways to keep your car insurance premium low:
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage protects you when you're involved in an accident with another driver who either is not insured at all, or is severely underinsured. This Rhode Island car insurance coverage is not mandatory, but it is encouraged for your protection.
Car Insurance Laws By StatesAL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE FL GA HI IA ID IL IN KA KY LA MA ME MD MI MN MS MO MT NE NC ND NM NV NH NJ NY OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VA VT WA WI WV WY