Saving on your auto insurance
Auto insurance. South Dakota.
South Dakota Law requires that any person who licenses and/or operates a motor vehicle must show proof of financial responsibility. Most people comply through the purchase of personal automobile insurance.
There are minimum state requirements for auto insurance policies in South Dakota. South Dakota uses the Tort system, which means that a person has to be at fault if there is a car accident. That person and their auto insurance company are responsible for any damages that are the result of the accident. Under South Dakota state law there is a requirement for Bodily Injury Liability in the amount of $25,000 for every person injured in an accident and a total of $50,000 for each accident. There is also a minimum requirement of $25,000 for Property Damage Liability. This type of coverage is called 25/50/25 coverage.
How To Reduce Your Premiums
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Uninsured Motorist coverage is required for all policies in South Dakota. It pays you, resident members of your family, and occupants of your auto for personal injuries caused by an uninsured motorist or a hit and run driver. No coverage for damage to your vehicle is provided.
Underinsured Motorist coverage is very similar to Uninsured, except that the coverage is for personal injuries caused by a motorist with inadequate insurance. If a motorist has 25/50 coverage, and you have 100/300 of underinsured motorist, your insurance will cover you once the medical costs exceed $25,000 (for one person) up to a maximum of $100,000 minus $25,000 of the other person's liability, $75,000 of your uninsured motorist coverage.
Car Insurance Laws By StatesAL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE FL GA HI IA ID IL IN KA KY LA MA ME MD MI MN MS MO MT NE NC ND NM NV NH NJ NY OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VA VT WA WI WV WY