Tennessee Auto Insurance Information
Auto insurance. Tennessee.
Laws and Minimum Requirement
To drive a car in Tennessee, you are required to show proof of your financial responsibility. Tennessee Law mandates that Tennessee drivers must prove carry at least liability limits of Bodily Injury Liability ($25,000 per person, $50,000 total) and Property Damage Liability ($10,000 per incident). In addition, Tennessee allows a motorist to alternatively purchase a single policy limit to cover $60,000 in both bodily injury and property damage in an accident. Tennessee auto insurance companies offer addtional coverages, for an additional premium, but Tennessee Law requires only Proof of Financial Responsibility.
Liability insurance covers the personal injury and property damage an at-fault driver causes in a motor vehicle accident. If an insuredís policy is not sufficient to cover the cost of an at-fault accident, the at-fault driver is personally responsible for the damages over the policy limits.
Higher liability coverage adds to the premium cost of insurance. A vehicle owner must balance the risk of liability with the cost of insurance. A person with greater assets would probably choose greater coverage to protect personal assets from additional claims above the minimum amount.
How to reduce your premiums
Shop around. Auto insurance premiums can vary from company to company and from coverage to coverage. You may be surprised to learn that auto insurance premiums for the exact same coverage on the same car can vary widely between different insurers.
Be sure to ask about any available Tennessee car insurance discounts. Many discounts may be available if you meet certain criteria. Here are some discounts you should ask about:
In 2004, Tennessee had an estimated 21.2 percent of uninsured drivers compared to 14.6 percent nationally and 13.9 percent for southern states. Tennessee Code Annotated requires every automobile liability insurance policy to include uninsured motorist coverage at the same limits as the bodily injury limits stated in the policy. However, an insured motorist may reject the insurance in writing or reduce the level of uninsured motorist coverage down to the minimum liability insurance requirements.
Car Insurance Laws By StatesAL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE FL GA HI IA ID IL IN KA KY LA MA ME MD MI MN MS MO MT NE NC ND NM NV NH NJ NY OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VA VT WA WI WV WY